Art Basel Miami and Photography

In December, I visited Art Basel Miami Beach for the first time. Somewhat of a DisneyLand for adults, the series of art and design festivals anchored around Art Basel exposed me to so much art, photography, and design work that I don’t regularly see in Toronto.

I really thought about  how I can find ways to infuse creativity into my photography when I saw a variety of artistic photography at the respective fairs. This is something that I’m going to make a bit of a goal for 2014. Crazy to think that it’s been almost nine years since I took photography class, so I think it may be time to get back to school and refresh on different techniques.

Since coming home from Miami, I have been poking around in magazines and online for more creative photography. I found a fair amount of examples of great photography on Saatchi Online, which has somewhat inspired me to be more creative in my shooting this year.

I’m trying to figure out where I will travel this year and think that no matter where I go, I will bring my camera to work on some more creative photography.

Who are some of your favourite photographers? Do you have a dream location you would love to photograph?

Leave a Reply

